Obj C + Cocoa vs everything else

11 Aug

I haven’t written anything for quite a while, mostly because I simply had nothing interesting to write about. Or at least nothing interesting about Cocoa or Objective-C. The last couple of weeks I’ve been doing less than the usual amount of Objective-C and/or Cocoa. One of the reasons is work and partly because I’ve been lazy. With lazy I’m not saying I haven’t done any programming or reading about programming languages at all. Work has forced me in doing more Ruby/Ruby on Rails simply because the projects I’m on had higher priority than the iPhone apps. And to be fairly honest; I didn’t mind at all.

By forcing me in to the ruby world again I’ve come to realize the magical wonders of Ruby and Ruby on Rails again. And this is also where I’ve become lazy. Objective-C in all it’s awesomeness is still so much more complicated and requires so much more work in order to do something as`simple` as “a” + “b”.

I’ve been wanting to write about my `new` found love for Ruby for quite some time but I got put of by it somehow. To be honest however I don’t think this love is quite new. I think I had just lost my love for Ruby somewhere along the way, or perhaps I just came to accept the fact that ruby just is as how it goes with many good things in life. However my new-found love is definitely for Ruby 1.9(.2) and the latest and greatest Rails version (3.0.0 RC 2). So in that way, it’s new.

First I thought that perhaps I should create a new blog for Ruby specific things but then I thought, why? I’ve this blog and although the blog title is “Cocoa” why the fuck couldn’t I just use this for programming in general? Or to be more precise; Objective-C, Cocoa, Ruby and Ruby on Rails. Those 2 framework and programming languages I’ve come to love in the last 2 and a half-year (I’ve only been doing Obj-C for less than a year and Ruby for nearly 2 and a half) would go together, it’s ok for me to have more than one lover, wouldn’t you agree? So from this day forth, this blog will be used for everything programming related.

Oh and since I’m on the personal/emotional tour anyway; I’d like to thank the people that have put their faith in me (You know who you are!) and giving me the opportunity to actually learn something new. Trust seems, almost, impossible to earn these days.

Peace out my brother and sisters! And if you haven’t already check out Ruby 1.9 and Ruby on Rails 3 pre with RVM (more on that in the next post).

One Response to “Obj C + Cocoa vs everything else”

  1. como ganhar dinheiro na 29 December, 2013 at 15:16 #

    My partner and I stumbled over here by a different page and thought I may as well check things
    out. I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to checking out your web page repeatedly.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

